Reinventing healthcare one patient at a time


The Belanger School of Nursing administers a number of scholarships provided by the school and various community based organizations. These scholarships vary in amount and are based on a variety of eligibility factors, including grade point average, financial need and residency of the applicant. A selection of the scholarships are listed below:

Laura S. Auer Scholarship

The Auer Scholarship was established subsequent to a bequest to The Belanger School of Nursing by Laura S. Auer. It is a full tuition scholarship awarded annually to a first year student upon enrollment.

The Arulnayagi Balasubramanian, MD Endowed Memorial Scholarship

This extraordinarly generous endowed scholarship has been received by the Belanger School of Nursing in March of 2015 from Dr. Nadarajah Balasubramanian to establish a scholarship fund for an annual scholarship to be awarded to a second year nursing student. This scholarship is named for and in memory of his wife, Dr. Arulnayagi Balasubramanian.

Dr. Marilyn Stapleton Scholarship

The Dr. Marilyn Stapleton Scholarship is awarded annually to a first yar student, who is an Ellis Medicine employee, at the start of their second semester. Dr. Stapleton served as the Director of the Belanger School of Nursing from 2007-2019. During her tenure, Dr. Stapleton oversaw many innovative changes at the school. Upon Dr. Stapleton's retirement, she started a scholarship fund to benefit current Ellis Medicine employees who want to become RNs and are committed to a career at Ellis Medicine after graduation.

Doug E. Smith Award

This award is given in memory of Doug E. Smith, an outstanding Ellis employee who encouraged and mentored new and developing employees. It is presented to a student who is an employee of Ellis Medicine. The student should exemplify the Bring our Heart to Work initiatives and be in good academic standing.


The Florence LaPorta Scholarship

The Florence LaPorta Scholarship is awarded each year in honor of Florence Colorito LaPorta, a graduate of the Belanger School of Nursing Class of 1956. Florence worked as an RN at Ellis Medicine and for 37 years at Kingsway Nursing Facility. She was dedicated to her profession, family and faith. This scholarship is awarded to a student who embodies the qualities of compassion and kindness. This individual should also treat everyone with respect and fairness, and continually exceed expectations in the clinical setting.


Schenectady County Home Bureau Scholarship

The Schenectady County Chapter of New York State Federation of Home Bureaus, Inc. has established a scholarship to be awarded to a student at the Belanger School of Nursing.


Additional information regarding these scholarships, and more may be obtained by contacting the Student Services Manager at 518.243.1582.