We don't hire nurses. We Invest In Them. Grow At Ellis.

Become an Ellis Nurse

Ellis Medicine is an invaluable healthcare resource for our region, providing the community with access to a broad array of vital health care services 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year. Ellis Medicine offers various nursing opportunities available throughout our three campuses -- Bellevue Woman's Center, Ellis Hospital and the McClellan Street Health Center.

Areas of Practice

Clinical Achievement and Recognition of Excellence

The Clinical Achievement and Recognition of Excellence (CARE) Program is a clinical ladder program that provides a way to recognize clinical nursing staff for their expertise. There are six levels in the CARE Program based on Benner’s Novice to Expert philosophy. Nurses analyze their own practice, evaluate their expertise, and demonstrate that practice. They can then apply for the advanced recognition of the CARE program for the specialized nursing knowledge, experience, and skills they possess for the level they wish to obtain.

Once accepted into the CARE program, a monetary award is received. For each level, the monetary award goes up. The nurse continues on this journey for each level as long as they meet their 1 year outcome goals and wish to re-apply for the next level. Each nurse works with a CARE program sponsor to analyze practice based on the criteria defined in the program for each level. Portfolios and applications are reviewed by the sponsor prior to being sent to the CARE Program committee for review. In nursing, excellence is the goal.

The levels are:

            Level 1 – Competent

            Level 2 – Competent

            Level 3 - Proficient

            Level 4 – Proficient

            Level 5 – Expert

            Level 6 - Expert

Start Your Nursing Career at Ellis Medicine


Search for Nursing Opportunities and to apply online for available positions